Fade To Black aka Blanket of Night

Another timelapse from Thanksgiving Day, this time of the sunset. I was pleasantly surprised how this turned out given a cloudless sky doesn’t always make for the most appealing textural video.

Shot with GoPro Hero 3+ Thanksgiving evening 2016 (Watch for the horse!). Processed in GoPro Studio with fresh music by me from an iPad app called Pattern Music. I haven’t used it very often and I liked the variation in the instrument choices it provides and got a nice moody effect from it. It’s set up with a grid system so I was really expecting a more rigid musical result and it fell into place nicely in the middle.

I’ve mentioned before an ambivalent view of GoPro Studio. I don’t like that you have to convert everything when you bring it in, so the app can feel snappy during the editing function. That’s a good idea, but the best workflow is to ingest your video and very quickly get it processing while you go do something else. You also have to have a lot of hard drive space for these giant copies it makes so your video card doesn’t have to fight to decode the compressed video or multiple high res images you shot as it flies through them or applies filter effects. I get it. I don’t love it.

And when you import and it crashes of hangs on converting something, only my Google love and ability to find a suggestion to change the framerate saved me from a very frustrating failure to edit.

I also really hate that you can’t zoom in on the timeline when making cuts, and if you can toggle along a frame at a time to find the right spot, I’ve forgotten how. Then when you do make the cut, every clip on your timeline is the same inch long size, with no indication of how long it really is. Ooh, like Legos. But I am not working with Legos. And I understand the simplicity of it, but the workflow is not creative to me, it’s blocky.

—–David.

P.S. I don’t use GoPro software to import my video, preferring to bring it in using Windows Explorer under a main GoPro folder and nowadays breaking it into a dated name folder with the subject. It comes in as 116GoPro and I will rename the relevant container as 2016_11timelapse. This date format, year-month-day, lets the folders sort properly in chronological order so I don’t have to read a giant list to find things when I know roughly when they happened.

img_1039

Fade To Black aka Blanket of Night was originally published on Creative Uploads

